Rivers Network

Sharing Knowledge - Raising Awareness - Bridging River's Advocates

The Eastern River Basin District (Ireland)

The Eastern River Basin District incorporates all or part of twelve Local Authority areas: Dublin City, Meath, Kildare, Wicklow, Cavan, Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal, Offaly, South Dublin, Westmeath, Louth and a small portion of Wexford.
The main river catchments in the area are the Boyne, the Nanny/Delvin, the Liffey, and the Avoca/Vartry.

The EU Water Framework Directive is perhaps the most forward looking piece of water legislation in the world. It takes a comprehensive catchment based approach to water management and, for the first time, gives us the opportunity to work together to overcome the problems experienced in our natural waters. It fosters cooperative working between local authorities and various stakeholders and is designed to overcome a “single issue” approach by recognising that all of society benefits and impacts our waters. The Directive aims to prevent any deterioration in the quality of our waters and to ensure that all waters reach good ecological status.


You are here:Home#River Blogs#West Europe#Ireland#Ireland - East Coast#The Eastern River Basin District (Ireland)

Additional Info

  • Location: 53.347778, -6.259722
Read 1937 times

Recent West Europe